Your notification message!


Awards presented by Sahitya Akademi are the most prestigious literary awards in India. These awards are presented in 4 different categories.

They are

Sahitya Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize

Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar

Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar

What makes Sahitya Akademi awards and other literary awards is that these awards are conferred on the best literary productions in each category and in each language annually and not on the writers for their literary service.

Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman

Apart from the 4 categories of awards, Sahitya Akademi also confers Bhasha Samman to promote research into Classical & medieval literature and also to promote works on unrecognized languages

Again, unlike other literary awards Sahitya Akademi Awards in 4 different categories are unique in that for each award in 24 languages more than 2400 scholars, writers and critics are involved in selecting the best literary creation.

So, Sahitya Akademi awards are the most elaborate, most inclusive and most transparent awards in the category with a 4-tier system in place to rule out subjectivity and bias in any award and in any language.

The decision of the Jury panel in each language in each award is forwarded to the Executive Board chaired by the President of Sahitya Akademi and once approved by the Executive Board, the awards are announced.

Quick Navigation