Your notification message!

General Council

The General Council of Sahitya Akademi is the Supreme Authority in policy and matters of foundational principles. It is the supreme authority in the matters pertaining to the direction of functioning of the Akademi.

In fact, all the policy matters are decided, basic principles of programmes are laid down and directions for functioning are provided by the General Council on the advice of eminent writers and scholars who are also part of each language advisory board.

The General Council elects the President, the Vice-President, the members of the Executive Board representing languages, and one representative of the General Council on the Finance Committee of the Sahitya Akademi. The tenure of each General Council is for five years. The term of the current General Council is from 2018 to 2022.

The General Council consists of 99 members made up as follows:

  • President of Sahitya Akademi

  • Vice President of Sahitya Akademi (elected from among its members)

  • Financial Advisor

  • Five members nominated by the the Government of India

  • Thirty-five representatives of the States of the Union of India and Union Territories

  • Twenty-four representatives of the languages recognized by the Sahitya Akademi

  • Twenty representatives of the Universities of India

  • Eight persons elected by the General Council for their eminence in the field of letters

  • One representative each of

        • The Sangeet Natak Akademi

        • The Lalit Kala Akademi

        • The Indian Council for Cultural Relations

        • The Federation of Indian Publishers

        • The Raja Rammohan Roy Library Foundation


Members of General Council [2018-2022]


Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar

“Siri Sampige”

No. 44, Ist Main,

Banashankari 3rd Stage, 4th Block

Bengaluru-560 085

Mob: 09980559000

Tel: 080-26890824


Vice President

Sri Madhav Kaushik

House No. 3277


Chandigarh-160 047

Mob: 09888535393


Financial Advisor

Sri R. K. Chaturvedi, IAS

Additional Secretary & Financial Adviser

Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Room No.: 318-C, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi

Tel.: 011-23388346


Five persons nominated by the Government of India of whom one each shall be a representative of the Ministry of Culture, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and the National Book Trust, India, and two shall be other nominees:

Govt. of India nominee

Ms. Nirupama Kotru

Joint Secretary to the Government of India

Ministry of Culture

Room No. 334-C

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi

Tel.: 011-23381198


Govt. of India nominee

Sri Vikram Sahay

Joint Secretary (Policy & Admn.)

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

Room No. 552, A Wing,

Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi – 110001

Tel: 23073775 / Fax: 23388771


Representative of the National Book Trust, India

Prof. Govind Prasad Sharma

Chairman, National Book Trust, India,

Nehru Bhavan, 5, Institutional Area, Phase-II

Vasant Kunj, New Delhi-110 070

Tel: 011-26121880


Government of India Nominee

Professor Nand Kishore Pandey


Kendriya Hindi Sansthan,

Ganesh Nagar, Khandari

Agra – 282005 (U.P.)

Tel: 0141-2709409

Mob: 09468585258, 09997659658


Government of India Nominee

Dr. Arun Kumar Bhagat

House No. 174, First Floor

Shakti Khand – 3, Indirapuram

Ghaziabad-201 014

(Uttar Pradesh)

Mob: 9818387111


Quick Navigation